# Agenda

## **2023 AACBNC Business Meeting**

#### Date, Time & Location of Meeting

March 17, 2023 • 11:30AM - 12:30PM ET • Del Prado Room

#### **Expected Attendees**

Sumner (President) • Executive Committee • Membership

### Order of Business

- 1. Approval of minutes of February 25th, 2022 Business meeting
- 2. Review of Current office holders

President: Rick Sumner (2022-23, terms ends 2023 meeting)
President-elect: Alex Robling (2023-24, will run 2024 meeting)

Past President: Lynne Opperman (2022-2023) Secretary-Treasurer: Raj Ettarh (2020-2023) Councilors

Kirk McHugh • Douglas Gould (2022-2024)
Carol Gregorio • Wendy Macklin (2020-2023)\*
Representative CFAS: Jeff Laitman (2019-2023)\*

## Incoming office holders

President: Alex Robling (2023-2024)
President-elect: Gary Bassell (2023-2024)
Past President: Rick Sumner (2023-2024)
Secretary-Treasurer: Raj Ettarh (2023-2026)

#### Councilors

Kirk McHugh • Douglas Gould (2022-2024) Wendy Macklin • David Morton (2023-2025) Representative CFAS: Jeff Laitman (2023-2025)

- 3. President's Report and Announcements (Opperman).
  - a. FASEB Hill Day 2022 (Opperman)
  - b. CFAS Rep report (Laitman)
  - c. Memberships: (Sumner) AAMC/CFAS, Research!America? Annual renewals.
  - d. Sign-on letters. President authorized signing of 2 letters:
    - i. Encourage Appropriators to Finalize FY23 NIH Funding Increase: AAMC-sponsored letter to House and Senate Appropriations Committee leadership, urging swift passage of at least the House Appropriations Committee-passed \$47.5 billion for the NIH base budget for FY 2023 November 2022
    - ii. Endorse the Ad Hoc Group FY24 Recommendation for NIH: For FY 2024, the AAMC Ad Hoc Group is recommending "at least \$50.924 billion for NIH's foundational work, a \$3.465 billion increase over the comparable FY 2023 program level, which would allow NIH's base budget to keep pace with the biomedical research and development price index (BRDPI) and allow meaningful growth of 5%
  - e. Nominating committee & Elections: (Sumner) late elections of president-elect and councilors to the Executive Committee were held in Jan-Feb 2023. Nominating committee (Lynne Opperman and Exec Comm). New president-elect is Gary Bassell (will run 2025 meeting), councilors are Wendy Macklin (second term) and David Morton.
- 4. Greetings from AAA: (Sumner) from Christine Ross and Valerie DeLeon
- 5. New Chairs

- 6. Candidates for Emeritus Membership Status: (Sumner) Opperman (Texas A&M), Bob Goldman (Northwestern U)
- 7. In memoriam?
- 8. Financial Report: (Ettarh)
- 9. Auditors' Report: (McHugh, Macklin)
- 10. Proposed Budget: (Ettarh)
- 11. Membership & Asset history: (Ettarh)
- 12. Updates: (Ettarh)
- 13. Other Business