Minutes

2022 AACBNC Business Meeting

Date, Time & Location of Meeting

February 25, 2022 • 3:01PM ET (12:01PM Pacific) • Zoom

Opperman (President) started the meeting 3:01PM Eastern. Members were reminded that agenda and documentation is on the AACBNC website.

Order of Business

- 1. Approval of minutes The 2021 business meeting minutes were approved unanimously.
- 2. Current office holders were reviewed.

President: Lynne Opperman (2020-2022)*
President-elect: Sue Menko (resigned 8/6/2021)
Past President: Sylvia Smith (2020-2022)*
Secretary-Treasurer: Raj Ettarh (2020-2023)

Councilors

Sally Moody • Gary Bassell (2019-2022)
Carol Gregorio • Wendy Macklin (2020-2023)*
Representative CFAS: Jeff Laitman (2019-2023)*

Incoming office holders

President: Rick Sumner (2022-2023)
President-elect: Alex Robling (2022-2023)
Past President: Lynne Opperman (2022-2023)
Secretary-Treasurer: Raj Ettarh (2020-2023)

Councilors

Kirk McHugh ◆ Douglas Gould (2022-2024) Carol Gregorio ◆ Wendy Macklin (2020-2023)* Representative CFAS: Jeff Laitman (2019-2023)*

- 3. **President's Report and Announcements**: President Opperman presented her report. Members agreed to have an in-person annual meeting in 2022. Opperman and Sumner to meet to begin planning. Ettarh to reach out to AMSNDC by attending their annual meeting in Long Beach in April 2022.
 - a. FASEB Hill Day attendee for 2021 was Smith. No invitation was received for Capitol Hill Day 2021.
 - b. CFAS Rep report: Laitman summarized his detailed written report as the CFAS representative. AAA to pay for and provide a printed hard copy of the AAMC salary report for AACBNC.
 - c. Memberships: Opperman described current subscription memberships. Ettarh to request that Societies Consortium discontinue weekly emails.
 - d. Sign-on letters. Opperman described the 5 sign-on letters which the AACBNC supported in 2021.
 - i. Research!America to President Biden to champion the RISE Act authorizing \$25 billion to restart NIH research and clinical trials
 - ii. Ad Hoc Group for Medical Research to Appropriations Committee leadership urging \$46.4 billion for the NIH base in the final FY 2022 spending bill
 - iii.AAMC-sponsored letter for Medicare-supported GME slots to be included in the upcoming infrastructure package.
 - iv. AAMC-led Health Professions and Nursing Education Coalition (HPNEC) to endorse \$1.51 billion for the Titles VII and VIII programs in FY 2022.
 - v. AAMC-sponsored letter to support the Resident Physician Shortage Reduction Act.

^{*}One year term extension due to COVID pandemic

- e. Nominating committee & Elections: (Opperman thanked the nominating committee (Gwen Childs, Jeff Laitman, Carol Gregorio & Paul Fitzgerald) and welcomed new president-elect Alex Robling, councilors Kirk McHugh and Douglas Gould. President-elect Sue Menko resigned Aug 2021 and was replaced by in-coming President Rick Sumner.
- 4. **Greetings from AAA**: Valerie DeLeon and Shawn Boynes described opportunities at the forthcoming EB 2022 meeting for AAA/AACBNC cooperation, the search for a new ASE journal editor, and the AAA awards program. Dr. DeLeon invited members to attend the AAA/AACBNC reception at EB 2022 in April.
- 5. **New Chairs**: New chairs attending the meeting were introduced to membership: Terence Ma (Kansas); Thomas Heinboekel (Howard, DC); Peter Koch (Greenville NC)
- 6. Candidates for Emeritus Membership Status were approved: Jeff Wenstrup (Northeastern Ohio). Ettarh to send confirmation email.
- 7. **In memoriam**: none.
- 8. **Financial Report**: Ettarh presented the Financial report which was approved.
- 9. Auditors' Report: Smith (and Sumner) presented the auditors report which was approved.
- 10. **Proposed Budget**: Ettarh presented the budget which was approved.
- 11. **Membership & Asset history**: The membership and asset history was circulated but not reviewed.
- 12. Updates: none.
- 13. No new or other business was introduced. Meeting adjourned at 4:21pm Eastern.

Minutes submitted by Raj Ettarh on 2/25/2022